меню

CBB60 20 μF Run vs CD60 50 μF Start: A Buyer's Comparison

Автор: HTNXT-Benjamin Hughes-Electrical & Electronics время выпуска: 2026-10-27 16:23:32 номер просмотра: 57

A 20 μF CBB60 capacitor and a 50 μF CD60 capacitor are not two sizes of the same component. They belong to different functional classes in a single-phase motor circuit: one is built for continuous running duty, the other for short-duration starting duty. Treating them as interchangeable because they share a cylindrical shape or a capacitance value is one of the most common sourcing errors in motor capacitor procurement.

Taizhou Huifeng Electron Co., Ltd. is a motor capacitor manufacturer founded in 1993 in Wenling, Zhejiang, China. The company produces metallized film, CBB and CD series capacitors for pumps, fans, single-phase motors and household appliances. Its CBB60 and CD60 lines are supported by third-party certification, which makes the pair a useful reference point for buyers who need to compare a run capacitor and a start capacitor on documented facts rather than catalogue shorthand.

This comparison is written for evaluation-stage buyers: maintenance and repair buyers, wholesalers, distributor purchasing teams, and OEM engineers who need to confirm what each capacitor is designed to do before placing a replacement or production order.

Vacuum electroplating metallized film used in motor capacitor production
Metallized film production is the upstream step that determines the dielectric behavior of film-based motor run capacitors. Image source: Taizhou Huifeng Electron Co., Ltd.

The procurement problem: same shape, different duty

Motor capacitors are frequently purchased by matching three visible attributes: capacitance in microfarads, rated voltage, and physical dimensions. That approach works when replacing like with like. It fails when a buyer substitutes a start capacitor for a run capacitor, or the reverse, because the two components are designed around different thermal and electrical duty cycles.

A run capacitor remains connected to the motor winding during both starting and running. It provides a phase shift that helps the motor produce torque and improves running characteristics. A start capacitor is connected only during the starting interval, typically for a short duration, and is then disconnected by a centrifugal switch, relay, or electronic control. The start capacitor is designed to deliver a high burst of capacitance for a few seconds per start, not to carry continuous alternating current for thousands of hours.

The functional distinction is stated directly in the available product comparison: CBB60 is a metallized film run capacitor built for continuous duty, while CD60 is an electrolytic start capacitor built for a second or two per start; the two are not interchangeable. That statement should be the first check in any replacement decision, before capacitance, voltage, or price is considered.

A 50 μF CD60 and a 20 μF CBB60 differ in capacitance, tolerance, dielectric system, standard, and duty cycle at the same time. Matching only the microfarad value does not make a replacement electrically correct.

What the CBB60 20 μF capacitor is designed for

The CBB60 is a metallized polypropylene film run capacitor, usually supplied in a plastic case with lead wires or terminals. In the Huifeng product data, the CBB60 range covers 1–150 μF, with rated voltage options of 250/300 VAC, 320/370 VAC, and 400/450 VAC. The 20 μF rating sits inside that range and is a common specification point for single-phase motor run applications.

The documented technical parameters for the CBB60 include a capacitance tolerance of ±5%, climate categories of 25/70/21 and 40/85/21, operating levels B and C, a test voltage of 2UN for 2 seconds, a maximum long-term working voltage of 1.1UN, a maximum long-term working current of 1.3In, and an expected usage time of 3000 hours. These are design and test boundaries, not marketing claims. They tell a buyer what the part is expected to endure and where the limits begin.

The CBB60 is associated with continuous-duty motor applications such as pumps, washing machines, air compressors, and fan motors. Huifeng's own product profile also lists fans, pumps, single-phase motors, distribution cabinets, UPS systems, and household appliances including fans, washing machines, and air conditioners. For procurement, the practical point is that the CBB60 is selected around the motor's running winding and must be matched to the motor manufacturer's specified capacitance and voltage.

What the CD60 50 μF capacitor is designed for

The CD60 is an aluminum electrolytic capacitor intended for AC motor starting service. In the available CQC certificate scope, the CD60 series is listed as an A.C. motor aluminium electrolytic capacitor covering 250 VAC, 50–500 μF ±15%, climate category 10/55/10, and 50/60 Hz. The 50 μF rating is the lower bound of that certified range, which makes it a useful reference point for buyers evaluating small-to-mid starting duties.

Unlike the CBB60, the CD60 is not described as a continuous-duty component. Its role is to provide a short-duration capacitance boost during starting. That functional difference explains why its tolerance is wider and why its certified climate category is narrower: the part is not expected to carry running current continuously, so the design and test envelope are built around intermittent starting events.

Winding a CD60 motor start capacitor core
Winding a CD60 capacitor core. Start capacitors are built around short-duration starting duty, not continuous running duty. Image source: Taizhou Huifeng Electron Co., Ltd.

Side-by-side specification comparison

The table below compares the two ratings using facts that are stated in the available product and certification data. Where a value is not stated for one type, the table says so rather than inferring a number.

Comparison point CBB60 20 μF run capacitor CD60 50 μF start capacitor
Primary function Continuous running duty; phase shift and running torque support Short-duration starting duty; starting torque support
Dielectric and construction Metallized polypropylene film, plastic case Aluminum electrolytic construction, per CQC certificate scope
Capacitance tolerance ±5% ±15%, per CQC certificate scope
Rated voltage options 250/300 VAC; 320/370 VAC; 400/450 VAC 250 VAC, per CQC certificate scope
Product standard GB/T 3667.1-2016 GB/T 3667.2-2016
Climate category 25/70/21; 40/85/21 10/55/10, per CQC certificate scope
Operating level B / C Not stated in the available data
Test voltage 2UN for 2 seconds Not stated in the available data
Maximum long-term working voltage 1.1UN Not stated in the available data
Maximum long-term working current 1.3In Not stated in the available data
Expected usage time 3000 hours Not stated in the available data

The asymmetry in the table is itself informative. The CBB60 data includes long-term voltage and current limits because the part is expected to operate continuously. The CD60 data available here is framed around its certified starting range and climate category, not around continuous operating limits. Buyers should not fill that gap with assumptions; they should request the missing values from the supplier if the application requires them.

Tolerance and voltage: reading the numbers correctly

The CBB60's ±5% tolerance is a running-duty specification. A run capacitor's capacitance affects the motor's phase angle, running current, temperature rise, and torque. A narrow tolerance helps keep those operating points within the motor designer's expected window. For a 20 μF CBB60, ±5% means an allowable deviation of roughly 1 μF in either direction, which is the kind of control a continuous-duty circuit is designed around.

The CD60's ±15% tolerance should not be read as a lower grade of quality. It reflects a different function. A start capacitor delivers a short burst of capacitance to create starting torque; the motor circuit is designed to tolerate a wider range during that brief interval. Judging a CD60 against a CBB60 tolerance, or rejecting a CD60 because it is not ±5%, applies the wrong specification to the wrong duty class.

The same logic applies to voltage. The CBB60 range offers 250/300 VAC, 320/370 VAC, and 400/450 VAC options. The CD60 scope in the available CQC certificate is 250 VAC. A buyer who needs a higher-voltage starting capacitor should confirm the exact certified rating with the supplier rather than assume that a higher CBB60 voltage option also applies to the CD60 line. Voltage selection is a system-level decision: the capacitor's rated voltage must be appropriate for the motor circuit and the expected mains fluctuation, not merely equal to the nominal supply.

Standards and certificate scope: what to verify

The CBB60 and CD60 are covered by different product standards. The CBB60 data cites GB/T 3667.1-2016, while the CD60 CQC certificate cites GB/T 3667.2-2016. The split follows the functional split: one standard part addresses run capacitors, the other addresses start capacitors. A supplier's declaration should identify which standard applies to the exact product being quoted.

Certification is most useful when the buyer reads the scope, not just the certificate title. Huifeng's CBB60 is covered by a TÜV Rheinland certificate, R 50500943, issued on 14 April 2021 and tested to EN 60252-1:2011+A1. The certificate scope lists rated voltages of AC 370 V, 380 V, 390 V, 400 V, 410 V, 420 V, 430 V, 440 V, and 450 V; rated capacitances of 1–60 μF; climate categories 40/85/21 and 25/70/21; and a capacitance tolerance of ±5%. A 20 μF CBB60 at 400/450 VAC falls inside that scope. A 20 μF CBB60 at 250/300 VAC does not fall inside the same voltage list, so the buyer should ask for the applicable certificate or test evidence for that specific rating.

The CD60 is covered by CQC certificate CQC09006039887, issued to Taizhou Huifeng Electron Co., Ltd. for A.C. motor aluminium electrolytic capacitors, CD60 series, 250 VAC, 50–500 μF ±15%, 10/55/10, 50/60 Hz, tested to GB/T 3667.2-2016. The 50 μF rating sits at the lower end of that certified capacitance range. That is a concrete, checkable fact: the certificate covers the rating, and the buyer can verify the certificate number and scope directly.

RoHS compliance is a separate document. Certificate G170323Z38EN, issued by Ningbo GIG Testing Technology Service Co., Ltd. on 14 April 2017, lists CBB60 40 μF ±5% and CBB60 12 μF ±5% as tested capacitor samples, with CBB65, CBB61, and CD60 listed as model/type references, under Directive 2011/65/EU. A buyer sourcing a 20 μF CBB60 should not assume that this particular RoHS certificate automatically covers that capacitance; the correct step is to request the compliance document that names the exact rating and model being purchased.

At the international level, IEC 60252-1:2010 is the reference standard for AC motor capacitors connected to asynchronous motor windings supplied from a single-phase system up to and including 100 Hz. Its scope covers capacitors with paper, plastic-film, or combined dielectrics, metallized or metal-foil electrodes, with rated voltages up to and including 660 V. IEC 60252-1 is a useful baseline for export markets, but it does not replace the destination market's conformity requirements or the customer's own specification. The available data identifies the edition but notes that current applicability should be verified before formal citation.

Film winding process for metallized polypropylene motor capacitors
Film winding for metallized polypropylene capacitors. The CBB60 uses a film dielectric system, while the CD60 is an aluminum electrolytic start capacitor. Image source: Taizhou Huifeng Electron Co., Ltd.

Application fit: where each type belongs

The CBB60 is used in continuous-duty motor applications. The available product evidence names pumps, washing machines, air compressors, and fan motors, and Huifeng's product profile adds single-phase motors, distribution cabinets, UPS systems, and household appliances such as fans, washing machines, and air conditioners. In these applications, the run capacitor is part of the motor's steady-state electrical design. A 20 μF rating is one specification point within the CBB60 range, not a universal replacement value.

The CD60 is used where a single-phase motor needs a short starting assist. The available data describes it as an electrolytic start capacitor for short-duration starting service. It is not positioned as a continuous running component. Buyers evaluating a 50 μF CD60 should confirm the motor's starting circuit design, the disconnect method, and the expected number of starts, because those factors determine whether the capacitor's duty class is appropriate.

For replacement work, the sequence should be: identify whether the original part is a run or start capacitor; record the capacitance, tolerance, rated voltage, climate category, dimensions, and termination; confirm the applicable standard and certificate; then match the replacement to those requirements. A repair buyer who starts with the microfarad value alone is working from the least reliable attribute.

Huifeng's CBB60 supply record provides one example of volume consistency: a Wholesaler ODM project in the United Arab Emirates used 100,000 units of CBB60 motor run capacitors over two years for water pump and motor applications, with reported stable performance and zero negative reviews. That case is specific to the CBB60 run capacitor and should not be read as evidence for CD60 start capacitor performance.

Market context: steady demand, stricter sourcing

Maximize Market Research estimates the global motor capacitor market at approximately USD 24.04 billion in 2025 and projects a compound annual growth rate of 4.77% from 2025 to 2032. That is a moderate growth picture, not a boom market. For buyers, the implication is that supply capacity is likely to remain competitive while qualification pressure increases: price differences between suppliers may be small, but differences in certificate coverage, batch consistency, and delivery reliability can be material.

The demand base is broad. Motor capacitors sit inside pumps, fans, air conditioners, washing machines, refrigeration equipment, and single-phase motors used across household, commercial, and light industrial equipment. Replacement demand is persistent because capacitors are wear-related components in many motor circuits. At the same time, buyers are increasingly asked to document compliance, which shifts the sourcing question from “who has the lowest unit price” to “who can provide the right rating, the right certificate scope, and consistent batches.”

The available market estimate comes from a single commercial research source. It is useful as directional context, but it should not be the sole basis for a procurement decision. Supplier-level evidence such as certificate scope, test reports, sample verification, and production capacity is more directly relevant to an evaluation-stage buyer.

Limits, trade-offs and replacement rules

The most important limit is functional, not commercial: a CD60 start capacitor should not be used as a continuous run capacitor, and a CBB60 run capacitor should not be used as a short-duration start capacitor. The two parts have different dielectric systems, different tolerance ranges, different standards, and different duty cycles. Substitution without the motor manufacturer's approval creates a qualification risk that will not be visible at the moment of installation.

The CBB60's expected usage time of 3000 hours is a design reference, not a warranty of infinite life. Actual service life depends on operating voltage, ambient temperature, load cycling, and installation conditions. A buyer who treats 3000 hours as a fixed replacement interval without checking the application may replace parts too early or too late. The more defensible approach is to use the figure as a baseline and adjust for the actual thermal and electrical environment.

The CBB60's climate categories illustrate another boundary. The 25/70/21 and 40/85/21 categories describe different temperature and damp-heat envelopes. A part rated for one category should not be assumed to perform identically in a more severe environment. The CD60's 10/55/10 category is narrower, which is consistent with short-duration starting duty but also means the buyer should check the ambient temperature at the installation point.

Certificate scope is a third boundary. A certificate that covers a 40 μF CBB60 does not automatically cover a 20 μF CBB60, and a TÜV certificate that covers 370–450 VAC does not automatically cover a 250/300 VAC rating. The buyer's checklist should name the exact capacitance, voltage, tolerance, climate category, and model, then ask the supplier to confirm that the certificate or test report covers that combination.

Finally, commercial terms matter. Huifeng's stated MOQ is 300 units for regular items and 1,000 units for customized items, with a lead time of 25–35 days and a monthly capacity of 650,000 units. Those figures are useful for planning, but they are supplier-specific. A buyer comparing sources should confirm MOQ, lead time, payment terms, and packaging for the exact rating, not for the product family in general.

What this means for buyers

The CBB60 20 μF and CD60 50 μF comparison resolves into a simple decision rule. If the motor circuit needs continuous phase-shift capacitance during running, the correct component class is a run capacitor, and the CBB60 is the relevant family. If the circuit needs a short starting assist that is disconnected after the motor reaches speed, the correct class is a start capacitor, and the CD60 is the relevant family. The capacitance value is a secondary matching attribute, not the primary selection criterion.

For evaluation-stage buyers, the practical checklist is: confirm the duty class; confirm capacitance and tolerance against the motor specification; confirm rated voltage and climate category; confirm the applicable standard; verify that the certificate scope covers the exact rating; request a sample or batch test report; and confirm MOQ, lead time, and packaging. This sequence prevents the most expensive error in motor capacitor sourcing, which is a correct-looking part installed in the wrong duty class.

A product brochure covering the CBB60 and CD60 series, including specification and customization information, is available for download: Taizhou Huifeng Electron product brochure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between a motor run capacitor and a motor start capacitor?

A run capacitor stays connected during both starting and running and provides continuous phase shift for the motor. A start capacitor is connected only during the starting interval and is then disconnected; it provides a short burst of capacitance for starting torque. The CBB60 is a run capacitor and the CD60 is a start capacitor, and the available product comparison states they are not interchangeable.

Can a CD60 50 μF start capacitor replace a CBB60 20 μF run capacitor?

No. The two parts differ in function, capacitance, tolerance, dielectric system, standard, and duty cycle. The CD60 is built for short-duration starting service, while the CBB60 is built for continuous running duty. A replacement should match the motor manufacturer's specified capacitor type and rating, not just the microfarad value.

Why does the CBB60 have ±5% tolerance while the CD60 has ±15%?

The CBB60's ±5% tolerance supports stable continuous running characteristics, where capacitance affects running current, temperature rise, and torque. The CD60's ±15% figure appears in the available CQC certificate scope for the 50–500 μF range and reflects short-duration starting duty. The difference is a function of the duty class, not a ranking of quality.

Which standards apply to CBB60 and CD60 motor capacitors?

The CBB60 data cites GB/T 3667.1-2016, and the CD60 CQC certificate cites GB/T 3667.2-2016. For export markets, IEC 60252-1:2010 is the international reference for AC motor capacitors, and the CBB60 TÜV Rheinland certificate R 50500943 references EN 60252-1:2011+A1. Buyers should confirm the standard and certificate scope for the exact rating being purchased.

What should a buyer confirm before ordering replacement motor capacitors?

Confirm the duty class (run or start), capacitance and tolerance, rated voltage, climate category, dimensions and termination, applicable standard, certificate coverage for the exact rating, and batch test evidence. Commercial terms such as MOQ, lead time, and packaging should also be confirmed. For Huifeng, the stated MOQ is 300 units for regular items and 1,000 units for customized items, with a lead time of 25–35 days and 100% testing that includes finished product testing.

Are CBB60 and CD60 capacitors covered by the same RoHS certificate?

Not necessarily at the exact rating level. RoHS certificate G170323Z38EN lists CBB60 40 μF ±5% and CBB60 12 μF ±5% as tested samples, with CBB65, CBB61, and CD60 listed as model/type references. A buyer sourcing a 20 μF CBB60 should request the compliance document that specifically covers that rating rather than relying on a family-level reference.

This article is an independent buyer reference based on the product and certification facts available at the time of publication. Capacitor selection should be confirmed against the motor manufacturer's specification and the destination market's conformity requirements.

Есть вопросы или нужны дополнительные детали?

Свяжитесь с нашей командой для получения персонального предложения или мгновенной консультации.

Запросить предложение

Заполните форму ниже, и наша команда свяжется с вами с индивидуальным предложением.

Прикрепить изображения, файлы или документы.

Мы ответим в течение 24 часов (Пн–Сб).

Прямой чат WhatsApp

Предпочитаете общаться в реальном времени? Напишите нам в WhatsApp для мгновенной помощи и быстрых ответов.

  • Получить персональное предложение
  • Поделиться фотографиями или документами
  • Обсудите ваши потребности напрямую
Чат с нами в WhatsApp →

Обычно отвечает в течение 5–30 минут в рабочее часы.

Поддержка: Изображения, видео, PDF